Here is what we do know

We do know that he had ties to Al Qaeda. We also know he said that more bombs were coming. He was interviewed by the FBI for 50 minutes then read his Miranda rights when he completely shut down. I understand not wanting to torture people or keeping uncharged people incarcerated indefinitely. But I would say this is extreme and dangerous. What do you think?

http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/opinion/blogs/beltway-confidential/Abdulmutallab-interrogated-for-less-than-an-hour-White-House-defends-handling-of-terrorist-case-82564657.html

4 Responses to “Here is what we do know”

  1. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    I’d say I’m on board with you here. But I’m surprised that a terrorist would suddenly shut up when he was told he didn’t have to talk. I mean, really? He was just spilling all the beans previous to being Mirandized? “What, you mean I don’t HAVE to talk? Wow!! And to think I was just gonna tell you everything I knew.” I highly doubt it was like that. Now, think of this. There’s no room for appeal, and nothing stopping him from talking now. He’s young. If he wants some decent treatment and any chance at all of seeing his family or ever getting out, he can still talk. So, I don’t think the DOJ are a bunch of bumbling idiots. Remember how many other terrorists were tried in civilian court and had lawyers. So, as a gut instinct, I think he should have been interrogated for hours by big mean tough guys. But you have to think in the big picture. A stick and a carrot, whatever. People with rights and lawyers still talk. And doing it legitimately makes it, well, legitimate. We are still a nation of laws.

  2. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    I don’t think anyone is challenging the way it went down except for you. I’m just looking for a balance. This guy is not a citizen and he did try to commit a terrorist act on us. That’s pretty fn serious if you ask me. And the liberal concept that this guy needs his constitutional rights preserved at the cost of potential leads to more terrorists is absolutely insane. And as far as I can tell, Obama was notified before his rights were read to him. Its liberal extemism at its worst.

  3. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    Each case is different, but it seems the “liberal extremism” method in this case is working pretty well.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/02/02/AR2010020202995.html?hpid=topnews

  4. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    Can you hear the crickets??

Leave a comment