Insurance companies

Health insurance rate increase requests by state:

CA–39%
MI–56%
ME–23%
OR–20%

Recent economic data show that profits for the ten largest insurance companies increased 250 percent between 2000 and 2009, ten times faster than inflation.[12,13] Last year, as working families struggled with rising health care costs and a recession, the five largest health insurance companies – WellPoint, UnitedHealth Group, Cigna, Aetna, and Humana – took in combined profits of $12.2 billion, up 56 percent over 2008.[14] These health insurance companies’ profits grew even as nominal GDP decreased by 1 percent over this same time period.[15] WellPoint accumulated more than $2.7 billion in profits in the most recent quarter alone.[16]
And recent data show that the CEOs of America’s five largest insurers were each compensated up to $24 million in 2008.[17]

http://www.healthreform.gov/reports/insuranceprospers/insuranceprofits.pdf

Pretty screwed up!!

6 Responses to “Insurance companies”

  1. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    Those evil capitalists making a profit during a recession!! How dare them! We need to stop them from making so much money and cap their rates because we know how to price health care better than the market!!!

    So you too are a marxist. I always thought so. I’m glad you felt comfortable enough coming out on the blog. Have you told your parents yet?

  2. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    I’m all for making a profit. I don’t work for free either. But what if your mortgage lender said it was increasing your rates 39%. Or gas went up 39%. Don’t tell me you weren’t cursing the oil companies a few years ago when gas was over $4 a gallon. You think it’s funny…go to ehealthinsurance.com and check out some of the rates. Check out the deductibles, and check out the co-payments. Then get back to me!

    Go ahead

    http://www.ehealthinsurance.com/

  3. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    A $123 a month. You can’t afford that? You should be able to pay that with pre-tax income like employer sponsored insurance (one of the many solutions sponsored by conservatives that won’t work.)

    Now take a look at the impediments to competition in your State and the solutions that conservatives have put forth. I bet you don’t even know what they are even after all this time. All you know is Obama said they won’t work.

    Now wait until health care passes and there is only one product that you can buy. It will have 130 mandated services required and a required low deductable. No more catastrophic insurance. And you have to buy it.

  4. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    So I see that you looked at the FIRST one, saw the price, and said AH-HAAA! It’s only $123. Did you read the fine print? Of course not. Did you see the co-pay? 40% So if I have a $20,000 bill, I’m paying half of it, with the deductible. You call that good? You call that affordable? And that’s the cheapest they got. If I break my ankle–it’s on me. If I get an infection–it’s on me. Thanks for playing.

    I know what the Repubs want. Interstate competution. TORT reform.

    Take a look at what the Repubs say, what they do, and how they vote. The televised debate should be interesting today. (Unless it’s a TRAP!!!!) as your conservatives like to say.

  5. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    Then get the one with 0% for 141 a month and start a pre-tax health insurance account so you have the big ass deductable saved in case something happens. Wait till you get the bill for the Obama plan. There is no catastrophic insurance under this plan. It will be more expensive. But we have been through this before. Big government versus free market. Da da dee da da. Move over grandma, we want subsidized health care now!! Screw your hip you old bag. We are moving 500 billion over from Medicare to cover my diabetes treatments!! Will it cover my xanax too?

    Hey so I’ll call you this weekend to compel you to go to Kauai. I think you will really like this place. I also have an excellent guide book I can send you if you decide to go.

  6. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    Oh, you mean the one with the $3500 deductible and “Office visits: You pay nothing after deductible”? Wow, what a bargain!! That would have been $15,000 over the past 10 years I would have just thrown away–and still had to have paid for my the MRI and treatment for my shoulder which came to about $2000 a few years ago.

    Talk to you this weekend.

Leave a Reply

