Your thoughts

Congress is extending unemployment benefits. What do you think?

5 Responses to “Your thoughts”

  1. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    They already did it once. In some areas you can ride unemployment out for 99 weeks now. I think it’s a terrible idea. People may not be able to find the job they want but if you treat finding a job like a full time job, you will find work. I know that if I lost my job I would be scared. We had a job fair last month and there were hundreds of people who showed up and waited 5-6 hours for an interview. There was an ex Merrill Lynch VP applying for a temp position. I look in the classifieds, craigslist and monster and there is nothing out there in my industry. But I would find something. It might suck, it might be beneath me but I would find something because I would work at it 40 hours a week.

  2. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    I think if the benefits outweigh the cost and consequences…The consequences being bankruptcy, crime, homelessness, kids out of school, medical expenses with no insurance, etc. These things are not as easy to quantify, but do cost society. You would find work beneath you because you would take a job from someone else who is less qualified. You have room to fall, so to speak. You have a computer, a reliable car and cell phone. What about the guy with no education, a spotty employment history, no computer, a three year old and a pregnant wife? If $1000 a month is keeping a family of four in a safe home, and keeping the father from selling drugs or stealing food, then as a society, that’s the price we pay. Yes there will be fraud…yes there will be lazy people…and yes some are already dealing drugs. But if a country of 200 million workers has a 10% unemployment rate, that’s a lot of desperate people who may end up costing us more in the long run.

  3. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    There was a time when I didn’t have a computer, didn’t have a cell phone and didn’t have a reliable car. I still would have found work. The very minimum is 6 months normally. Congress already extended it 20 weeks (I think it was 20, if im wrong im close. That’s 11 months!!
    That’s long enough. It’s called personal responsibility. I don’t want to live in a nanny state!!!!!!! Once again, I’m ok with a safety net but when you start trying to take care of every single person’s problem, it breeds a culture of entitlement and makes things worse. Liberalism is a disease and you clearly have it 🙂

  4. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    So if it saves money in the long run, you are still against it? You are clearly shortsighted and put idealism ahead of realism. If unemployment is at 4% and the economy is humming, then I agree with you. I understand you don’t want to live in a nanny state–neither do I. How about a tent city?

  5. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    Maybe it will save money in the short term, maybe not. I don’t believe it will save money in the long term because it breeds a culture of dependence. Just how many people do you think are on the verge of homelessness because they cannot find a job after 46 weeks? What about family? Unless you are drug addict, most families would take someone in if they were truly trying to find a job and just couldn’t find one. Do you really think there are tent cities worth of people who cant get a job at Walmart? 10% is really bad and there are more who are under employed but the further you go with this thing, the more its taken advantage of and the more people are moved towards reliance on the government. My Libertarian ideology says this is bad for our country. I’m not a heartless soul. I actually think this is best for everyone. I actually think that your view is not good for people and that we are doing everyone a disservice with this cradle to grave nanny mentality. The more government intervenes, the more it makes it tougher to create jobs and give people additional opportunities.

Leave a Reply

