article

This is a long article, but insightful as to why you are, and continue to be, so wrong about modern conservatism, its practitioners, and its future. Ha ha…but maybe it will open your eyes to a few things. Don’t let the title fool you, it’s about more than that. And written by a “leading” conservative.

http://www.newsweek.com/id/188279?from=rss

3 Responses to “article”

  1. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    It’s almost like we have two blogs. All you post about are people in the Republican party and how you can’t identify with them, etc….. And I post about policies and issues that are happening today. I’ll post about a controversial health care bill, you’ll post about Sarah Palin being a bitch. I’ll put up some links to open up a discussion about CDO’s, you’ll post a youtube link of Rush Limbaugh.

    I’m not a Republican. I don’t identify with any party. I find it very odd that you cannot look at each issue on its own and think independently. I listen to Rush Limbaugh (occasionally) because he is very smart and insightful. The Republican Party is dead anyway. They proved that with the last budget bill.

  2. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    I think that I am just as interested in the means as the ends. The final product i.e. the bill, law, ideal is interesting, but I also find the game of politics fascinating. Much more interesting to me, for example, is the strategy of choosing Palin, as compared to McCain’s stance on cap and trade. Or how 15 years ago Gingrich dueled it out with Clinton–and lost. I just find that stuff interesting. And it will be more interesting for me, for example, to see who emerges as a leader in the Republican party, as compared to, say, arguing over $10 billion in earmarks. I guess I am more in tune to, as in most cases, the sociological aspect of it all. How in the hell, as another example, did a 47 year old first term black senator with a Muslim sounding name become president? THAT fascinates me! But I’ll admit I’ve been pretty relentless so I can mellow out on it. Social conservatives just bug the shit out of me, man!!

    By the way, did you see the bank story on 60 Minutes? Pretty interesting.

  3. urstupidnourstupid Says:

    You mean the celebrity aspect of it. While that may be interesting, I’m much more concerned about how their actions affect our country. I think the question should not be who will emerge as the Republican leader but rather what happens if someone doesn’t or isn’t effictive.

    I didn’t see 60 minutes but I did rent Bill Mahr’s movie Religulous. It was really funny and well made. You can watch a couple social conservatives make real asses out of themselves. Should be right up your alley 🙂

Leave a Reply

